Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Early voting ends today, here's what you need to know for the May 4 election

Autumn Jones

April 30 is the last day to early vote in the local joint general election. KWBU breaks down what you need to know about voting in McLennan County.

Early voting for the May 4 general election ends today, thousands of people in McLennan county have cast their votes for local and school district elections.

This election includes the race for Waco mayor, those in the race to replace outgoing Mayor Dillion Meek are District 5 Council Member Jim Holmes, attorney Aubrey Robertson and pastor and activist Eric Brown.

There are also multiple school bonds and general elections for school districts across the county.

Waco ISD incumbent Keith Guillory will face off against Lauren Caldwell for the at-large seat of the board of trustees.

The school districts of Connally, Crawford, Lorena and Mart will also vote for new trustee members.

The school districts of Axtell, Connally, La Vega, Lorena and McGregor are seeking bonds for various school facilities. La Vega is seeking the highest amount of bonds, with a total of $92.9 million for facilities, transportation and stadium upgrades.

There is still time if you want to get out and vote early. Polls will be open from 7 AM to 7 PM tonight, at five early voting sites.

Locations include the McLennan County Elections Administration Office, Robinson Community Center, Doris Miller Community Center, the West Waco Library and Genealogy Center and the Hewitt City Hall and Library.

Axtell ISD voters who are registered in Hill County or Limestone County can only vote early at the Doris Miller Community Center and Mart ISD voters who are registered in Falls County or Limestone County can only vote early at the McLennan County Elections Administration Office.

La Vega ISD will hold their own election, and you can vote at their administration building.

A full list of voting locations and sample ballots can be found online at